RSS

Locked out but not stopped

20 Sep

You can’t stop doing something you truly love. The NBA players have displayed this more than ever in the past months. The summer is winding down and there seems to be no end to the NBA lockout. The players realize the situation at hand, and some players chose to go and play overseas until things are handled. NBA stars such as Deron Williams and J.R. Smith have signed deals to play overseas.

Former Denver Nuggets shooting guard J.R. Smith has inked a deal to play for the Zhejiang Golden Bulls in the Chinese Basketball Association, or CBA. In the past, Smith has displayed signs of being a force in the NBA but also has shown signs of his youth. He is learning from his attitude problems in the past, and his time in China will teach him better.

Smith on his former team Denver Nuggets

Former New Jersey Nets point guard Deron Williams has chosen to play for a team in Turkey called Besiktas Club (this team also employed Allen Iverson during his brief overseas stint). Williams has been a huge factor for his team in the NBA in his previous years in the NBA. It’s difficult to not play professionally when that’s what you grow accustomed to.

Deron Williams displaying his Turkish jersey

Some people say that this is selfish for these players to do. I feel that they should play as much as they can, and being overseas is a great experience. What do you think?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in NBA

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Locked out but not stopped

  1. dball93

    September 22, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I love hearing about players having a lot of success playing overseas. I am glad many are getting the opportunity, but I would still much rather have them in the States with the NBA.

     
  2. s21awilliams

    September 22, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I’m not sure what I think about this idea. I can easily see the value of each side’s opinion. I’m sure it is awesome for the players though. Something I never really understood about pro sports teams is that the team they play on supposedly represents a particular state, and yet almost all of the players on any given team are from other parts of the country. Because that is already the case I suppose it doesn’t make any difference to me whether a player is playing ball here in the states or overseas.

     
  3. bnwelch

    September 22, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    I somewhat agree. I definitely believe that if the lockout is going to last then the players need to play still. I do not think they should sit around and wait. I don’t know too much about the NBA lockout, but I am curious, if the lockout is ended and a deal is reached while many key players for teams are oversees will the league be greatly affected by this? I do believe they should keep playing though, and I can imagine it would be difficult if not almost impossible for them to just suddenly stop playing pro ball.

     

Leave a Reply

 
